The Search Engine

args, aka args.me, is the first search engine for arguments on the web. It is non-commercial and independent from industry. Established in 2017, args is still in an early stage of development and will be periodically updated.

args is meant to be used by anyone. It aims to support people in forming opinions on controversial issues in a self-determined manner. args searches pro and con arguments for any issue on reliable web platforms, and it assesses their relevance using methods from computational argumentation research. We believe that the identification of traceable high-quality arguments is of continuously increasing importance in times of fake news and alternative facts. So, if Google cannot help you, then maybe args.me.

The software and data underlying args serve as an environment for collaborative research on computational argumentation and its practical evaluation. We invite researchers and practitioners to participate in the ongoing development of args. While we aim to make the software and data as open as possible, notice that this may sometimes take a while due to our limited capacities. For more information, see our scientific papers on args.


Why a parrot logo? Well, just imagine the sounds parrots come up with themselves. Isn't args one of them? Even more, parrots can talk, of course. Yes, many parrots just parrot, and this is actually what args currently does, too: it parrots arguments made by humans. But some parrots are also able to lead conversations, especially those that have interacted with humans for a long time. That is a nice prospect for an argument search engine, no?


The idea of an argument search engine has been developed at the Webis group of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar in Weimar, Germany. The current implementation still follows the outline of the original publication.

Meanwhile, many people contributed to the project: Rosemary Adejoh, Yamen Ajjour (Maintainer), Khalid Al-Khatib, Ruta Hareshbhai Bakhda, Giuliano Castiglia, Jonas Dorsch, Roxanne El Baff, Fan Fan, Bernd Fröhlich, Dora Kiesel, Johannes Kiesel (Maintainer), Leon Kühr, Anh Phung Le, Jannis Leuther, Martin Potthast, Jana Puschmann, Jiani Qu, Patrick Riehmann, Philipp Rudloff, Vincent Söllner, Benno Stein, Nguyễn Hùng Thắng, Lukas Trautner, Darpan Vats, Henning Wachsmuth (Lead).

Back to main page